Scholarships 2021-10-27T11:52:30+00:00

The School of Social Sciences and Applied Programs has opened the application process for the 2019 Criminal Justice Memorial Scholarships. The scholarship process includes a requirement that each student will submit an application along with an essay addressing how he or she plans to contribute to the criminal justice career field, and to explain how the degree will help them accomplish their goals. Additional requirements for consideration for these scholarships include a major in criminal justice, junior or senior status for the DeVanie, Daughtry, and Kyle scholarships, the Doyle & Barbara Bailey Scholarship, LaValley Memorial Scholarship, Marion T. Loftin scholarship and Kyser Endowed scholarships are open to all criminal justice major candidates regardless of academic year. Lastly, student must have an overall minimum GPA of 2.5, and a minimum major GPA of 3.0. Students only need to complete only one application! Your application will allow your consideration for all scholarship opportunities.

GlenDeVanieGlen Denning DeVanie Memorial Scholarship was established to honor the legacy of Glen Denning DeVanie, a criminal justice major and an Alexandria deputy marshal at the time of his death in the spring of 2003. The scholarship honors Glen through financial assistance by encouraging students who are working toward their Criminal Justice Degree to take their learning experience along with Glen’s legacy into the future.

BradThe Bradley Alan Daughtry Memorial Scholarship was established to honor the memory and legacy of Bradley Alan Daughtry, a Northwestern State University student, majoring in criminal justice, who lost his life in the fall of 2006. The scholarship was set up by friends of the Daughtry family with a temendous outpouring of support from Brad’s hometown, Winnfield, Louisiana. Brad Daughtry was a graduate of Winnfield Senior High School where he participated as a member of the football team. Brad also worked as a dispatcher for the Winn Parish Sheriff’s Office where he developed a desire to continue work in the area of criminal justice. Preference for this scholarship will be given to residents of Winn Parish.

FrankKyleThe Frank C. Kyle Memorial Scholarship was established to honor the legacy of Frank C. Kyle, a deceased faculty member of the Department of Criminal Justice at Northwestern State University in Natchitoches, Louisiana. Frank was a member of the faculty from 1999 to 2004. Frank’s desire to provide real world experience to the educational experience of students and increase the understanding to those graduates who enter the world of professionalism within the Corrections disciplines is his legacy.

The Doyle & Barbara Bailey Criminal Justice Scholarship is funded by Mr. and Mrs. Doyle Bailey of Natchez, Louisiana and will be awarded to a deserving Criminal Justice major. The Baileys have worked with law enforcement in the Critical Incident Stress Debriefing area for a number of years and want to help develop talent for law enforcement. This scholarship is available for any Criminal Justice major and is not limited to juniors or seniors.

ThomasLaValleyThe Thomas LaValley Memorial Scholarship was established to honor Shreveport Police Officer, Thomas LaValley, a Northwestern State alumnus who gave his life helping and protecting others. Officer LaValley, born in Baton Rouge and a 2007 graduate, was fulfilling his dream of being a police officer when he tragically lost his life while responding to a disturbance call on 5 August 2015. The Officer Thomas LaValley Memorial Scholarship is awarded to students majoring in Criminal Justice preferably from Caddo, Bossier, and Ascension parishes and for the sons and daughters of fallen police officers.

RickyIssacThe Natchitoches Parish Sheriff’s Office and the NSU Department of Criminal Justice, History and Social Sciences established the Ricky Issac Jr. Memorial Scholarship. It is testament to the dangers officers face every day when they put on their uniform and go out to serve others facing unknown dangers, not only ill meaning people, but also the elements. Ricky was going on a call, which he would never answer because due to heavy rain the roads were wet, his patrol unit hydroplaned, he was unable to gain control, went off the road and hit a tree where he sustained fatal injuries.

The Marion T. Lofton Endowed Scholarship – Loftin was a 1935 graduate of Louisiana State Normal College (now Northwestern State University) and went on to earn a master’s degree at Louisiana State University and a doctorate at Vanderbilt University. He joined the faculty of Mississippi State University in 1949 as an assistant professor. Loftin was named vice president of graduate studies and research in 1979, serving in that position until his retirement in 1985. He was a Thomas L. Bailey Professor of Sociology and Rural Life, head of the sociology department and dean of the graduate school. Loftin passed away in 1997. His fond memories of Natchitoches resulted in a gift to the NSU Foundation.

The Kyser Endowed Scholarship is named in honor of Mrs. Kyser’s husband, her daughter, and herself. Mrs. Kyser was a pioneer in the development of physical education programs for women and served on the faculty at NSU for 18 years. She was also very active in the historic preservation movement in Natchitoches and she traveled extensively with her husband, John S. Kyser. Dr. John Kyser, a geographer and head of the School of Social Sciences. He served as president of NSU from 1954 to 1966. In 1997, Mrs. Kyser in recognition of the importance of the social sciences for understanding the world events established the Kyser Scholarship to assist students in pursuing careers in the social sciences.

Northwestern State Department of Criminal Justice Excellence Award recognizes the superior performance of one graduating senior majoring in criminal justice and in recognition of the superior performance of one of our alumni making a significant contribution to the field of criminal justice and community support.

Northwestern State University has received approval from the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System to revise its fee reduction for commissioned full-time law enforcement or public safety officers, which include firemen and EMS personnel.

The terms of this reduction are as follows:

  • Employment must be verified by the officers’ Law Enforcement or Public Safety agency and submitted to the University’s Office of Scholarships on a semester basis.  To download the Application for Fee Reduction, please click the link below.
  • Undergraduate students will maintain a semester GPA of 2.0.  Graduate students will maintain a semester GPA of 3.0.
  • Undergraduate students may enroll in no more than 9 undergraduate semester hours and Graduate students may enroll in no more than 6 semester hours at the reduced rate.  All additional hours will be at the standard tuition rate.
  • Students will pay a proportion of the General Registration Fee based on the chart below.

Fee Reduction for Law Enforcement or Public Safety Personnel Forms

View the tuition and fees for your semester here: Tuition and Fees

All other required Board, University Assessed or Self-Assessed fees will be the responsibility of the student.

In order to receive the fee reduction, undergraduate students must be enrolled in one of the following programs:*

  • Criminal Justice
  • Unified Public Safety Administration
  • Homeland Security
  • General Studies
  • Liberal Arts
  • Business Administration

In order to receive the fee reduction, graduate students must be enrolled in one the following programs:*

  • Master of Science – Homeland Security
  • Master of Arts, Adult Education – Concentration Homeland Security

(* Programs of study may be altered to adjust for program additions, reduction, revision or elimination)